Document Actions

You are here: FRIAS Announcements Current News Prestigious Aneesur Rahman Prize …

Prestigious Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics 2017 awarded to FRIAS Alumnus Sauro Succi

FRIAS Alumnus Sauro Succi will be awarded the Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics 2017 “for groundbreaking contributions to the development and application of the Lattice Boltzmann method.” The prize is presented annually by the American Physical Society (APS) to recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in computational physics research. It is considered the most prestigious award in the field of computational physics.

Sauro Succi is one out of four Europeans to have been awarded the prize since its establishment in 1992. The Prize is named after the Indian physicist and mathematician Aneesur Rahman who pioneered the application of computational methods to physical systems. It was set up with the support of the IBM Corporation as a means of recognizing outstanding work and disseminating information in computational physics. The prize comprises an award sum of $ 10,000.


Sauro Succi serves as Director of Research at the Instituto Applicazioni Calcolo of the National Research Council in Rome. He was Fellow at the then FRIAS School of Soft Matter Research from 2009-2013, where he focused on the development of innovative multiscale techniques for the numerical simulation of problems involving the dynamics of flows across many scales of motion.

Sauro Succi is internationally known for his further development of the Lattice Boltzmann method for fluid dynamics, a method enabling the simulation of fluids such as blood, flood waves or tsunamis.