Document Actions

You are here: FRIAS The Institute Committees Steering Committee

Steering Committee

Steuerungsgremium 2020The FRIAS Steering Committee supervises the work of the Institute. It gives recommendations on all matters of fundamental and long-term importance. These recommendations are taken up both by the FRIAS directorate and the rectorate of the university. The Steering Committee consists of five external and nine internal members, among them representatives of the faculties, research centers, students and junior researchers. The FRIAS Steering Committee convenes once a year. It held its inaugural session on July 18-19, 2015. The committee is chaired by Prof. Dr. Peter Frankenberg, former Minister of Science, Research and Art of the State of Baden-Wuerttemberg.


Steering Committee Members:

External members

  • Dr. Enno Aufderheide, Secretary-General of the Alexander von Humboldt-foundation;
  • Dr. Anke Beck, CEO of the Open Access Publishing House IntechOpen, London;
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Esfeld, Professor for Philosophy of Science, Université de Lausanne;
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Frankenberg, Minister of Science for Baden Württemberg from 2001-2011 and currently Chairman of the Heinrich-Vetter-Foundation;
  • Prof. Dr. Julika Griem, Director of the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities, Essen and Vice President of the German Research Foundation DFG;


Internal members:

  • Prof. Dr. Oliver Einsle, Professor of Biochemistry and Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy;
  • Prof. Dr. Barbara Korte, Professor of English Literature;
  • Prof. Dr. Carola Hunte, Professor of Biochemistry and Vice-Dean for Research of the Faculty of Medicine;
  • Prof. Dr. Olaf Rank, Professor of Organization and Human Resource Management and Dean of the Faculty of Economics and Behavioural Science;
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Helmuth Gander, Director of the Husserl Archive and Executive Director of the Centre for Security and Society (CSS);
  • Prof. Dr. Daniela Kleinschmit, Professor of Forestry and Environmental Policy and Dean of the Faculty of Environment and Natural Resources;
  • Dr. Henriette Franz, junior researcher representative;
  • Friedrich Schmitt, doctoral student representative




Last update: January 2019