Document Actions

You are here: FRIAS Funding Programmes Freiburg Res. Coll. Programme …

Freiburg Research Collaboration Programme (FRESCO)

FRESCO is the Freiburg Research Collaboration Programme via which the University of Freiburg intends to establish long lasting, sustainable links between excellent researchers from Freiburg and high-ranking international researchers to substantially strengthen and develop existing profile and emerging fields and thereby enhance the three key research areas Cultures and Societies in Space and Time, Pathways to Sustainability and Signals of Life.

FRESCO offers the opportunity to the Freiburg faculty of nominating top international researchers as external fellows for an extended period. The programme is designed to promote the establishment of new long-term collaborations or the strengthening of existing collaborations by supporting the exchange of expertise and technologies between excellent researchers

News, Interviews & Events

Prof. Tavernarakis (c) Christos Tsoumplekas


"Supporting frontier research is truly an investment to our collective future" 

zum Interview mit FRIAS Fellow und ERC Vice President Nektarios Tavernarakis (auf Englisch)





Participating Scientists


Alexandra-Maria Klein
© Joachim Pelikan

Prof. Dr. Christina Grozinger


The Pennsylvania State University                                  


Prof. Dr. Alexandra-Maria Klein

Head Chair of Nature Conservation and Landscape Ecology

University of Freiburg

Prof. Suzanne E. Mohney

Penn State University


Prof. Dr. Anna Fischer

Professor of Inorganic Functional Materials and 

Nanomaterials for Electrochemical Energy

Conversion and Storage

ExcCluster livMatS

Prof. Dr. Daniela Müller

Ferdinand Prostmeier

Prof. Dr. Daniela Müller

Radboud University


Prof. Dr. Ferdinand R. Prostmeier

Dean of the theological institute

University of Freiburg

Gabriel Nunez

Prof. Dr. Gabriel Núñez

The University of Michigan


Prof. Dr. Olaf Groß

Institute of Neuropathology

University of Freiburg

Onookome Okome

Prof. Dr. Onookome Okome

African Studies, Literature and Cinema

University of Alberta


Prof. Dr. Barbara Korte

Chair of English Literature

University of Freiburg

Dr. Felicitas Opwis

Johanna Pink

© Jürgen Glocke

Prof. Dr. Felicitas Opwis

Arabic and Islamic Studies

Georgetown University, Washington


Prof. Dr. Johanna Pink

Islamic Studies

University of Freiburg

Klaus Puettmann

© Joachim Pelikan

Jürgen Bauhus

© privat

Prof. Dr. Klaus Puettmann


Oregon State University


Prof. Dr. Jürgen Bauhus

Chair of Silviculture

University of Freiburg

Greg Suaning

© Phil Henville

stieglitz aktuell c Uni Freiburg Klaus Polkowski

© Uni Freiburg, Klaus Polkowski

Prof. Gregg J. Suaning


University of Sydney


Prof. Dr. Thomas Stieglitz

Laboratory for Biomedical Microtechnology

University of Freiburg

Prof. Tavernarakis (c) Christos Tsoumplekas

© Christos Tsoumplekas

Ralf Baumeister

Prof. Dr. Nektarios Tavernarakis

Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas 

Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology

Medical School of University of Heraklion


Prof. Dr. Ralf Baumeister

ExcCluster BIOSS/CiBSS

Group: Bioinformatics and Molecular Genetics

University of Freiburg