Document Actions

You are here: FRIAS MIASA

Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA)

MIASA

 

Open Call for Applications

Fellowships on “The Governance of Energy Transitions in the Global South” 2020

Application deadline: October 15, 2019, 24 h CET
 
 

The Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) is an international research college at the University of Ghana in Legon, Accra. The Institute facilitates the cooperation of Ghanaian scientists with their international peers beyond disciplinary and geographical boundaries. MIASA is committed to reducing global asymmetries in knowledge production, simultaneously bridging the cultural divide between anglophone and francophone Africa, as well as increasing the visibility of humanities and social science research by academics in and from Sub-Saharan Africa. In order to achieve this goal, MIASA is awarding scholarships to junior and more established researchers. These researchers will work during a pre-project phase from 2018 till 2020 on the central topic Sustainable Governance.

The Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS), together with five other consortium partners, supports the establishment of the research institute. Drawing on its many years of experience, FRIAS provides assistance in the design of MIASA’s academic programmes, the organisation of application and selection procedures, as well as the supervision and support of invited research fellows. FRIAS thus utilizes its large alumni network of international researchers and scientists to establish contacts to other Institutes for Advanced Studies from the European network of Institutes for Advanced Studies (NetIAs) and the international network of University-based Institutes for Advanced Study (UBIAS).

FRIAS also supports MIASA in its dissemination and outreach activities (e.g. public lectures, conferences and workshops), especially in creating a dialogue between academia and the general public to maximise the social and political impact of research performed at the institute.

MIASA’s programmes are funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), while local personnel, administrative, and operational costs are borne by the University of Ghana.

Further information about MIASA can be found at www.ug.edu.gh/mias-africa/

Artikelaktionen

Sie sind hier: FRIAS MIASA

Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA)

MIASA

 

Aktuelle Ausschreibungen

 

Das Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) ist ein internationales Forschungskolleg an der Universität Ghana in Legon, Accra. Das Institut fördert die Zusammenarbeit ghanaischer Wissenschaftler/innen mit internationalen Kolleg/innen über Disziplinen- und Ländergrenzen hinweg. MIASA setzt sich für den Abbau globaler Asymmetrien in der Wissensproduktion und eine stärkere Zusammenarbeit von Forschenden aus dem anglophonen und dem frankophonen Afrika ein. Das übergeordnete Ziel von MIASA ist es, die weltweite Sichtbarkeit der geistes-, sozial- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Forschung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus Subsahara-Afrika zu erhöhen. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, vergibt das Forschungskolleg Stipendien für Nachwuchsforscher/innen sowie für etablierte Wissenschaftler/innen, die in der Projektvorphase von 2018 bis 2020 zu dem übergeordneten Thema Sustainable Governance arbeiten.

Das Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) ist gemeinsam mit fünf weiteren Konsortialpartnern aus Deutschland und Frankreich sowie zwei weiteren Partnern aus Accra und einem Partner in Dakar/Senegal am Aufbau des Forschungskollegs auf dem Campus der Universität Ghana beteiligt.

FRIAS begleitet MIASA bei der Ausgestaltung der wissenschaftlichen Förderprogramme, der Organisation von Bewerbungs- und Auswahlverfahren der Stipendiaten, der Betreuung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern (Fellows) und Entscheidungsträger/innen aus Kultur, Politik und Wirtschaft (Policy Fellows). FRIAS bietet MIASA Zugang zu einem großen Netzwerk Freiburger Wissenschaftler/innen sowie ihrer internationalen Kolleg/innen und zu anderen Institutes for Advanced Studies aus dem europäischen Netzwerk (NetIAS) und dem internationalen Netzwerk universitätsbasierter Institutes for Advanced Study (UBIAS).

Die Forschungsergebnisse im Rahmen von MIASA werden durch FRIAS einer breiten wissenschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht, bspw. durch Konferenzen, Workshops, Summer Schools und Vorträge. FRIAS unterstützt MIASA bei sämtlichen Outreach-Aktivitäten.

Der afrikanisch-europäische Wissenschaftsaustausch von MIASA als viertem Maria Sibylla Merian Centre for Advanced Studies wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanziert, während die Personal-, Verwaltungs- und Betriebskosten vor Ort von der Universität Ghana getragen werden.

Weitere Informationen über MIASA finden Sie unter www.ug.edu.gh/mias-africa/